

Committee Terms of Reference

File: 0540-20

Terms of Reference Comox Valley Recreation Commission

Mission: Established by Bylaw No. 632 (adopted in 2020) and comprised of directors from Baynes Sound (Electoral Area A), Lazo North (Electoral Area B), Puntledge – Black Creek (Electoral Area C), the City of Courtenay, the Town of Comox and the Village of Cumberland and a School District No. 71 trustee, this commission considers matters relating to the administration and operation of the Comox Valley Recreation Complexes Service, the Comox Valley Track and Fields Service and the Comox Valley Exhibition Grounds Service.

Authority: The Comox Valley Regional District Board has delegated to the commission all of the administrative powers of the Regional District Board with respect to the construction, equipping, operation and maintenance including, without limitation, the power to organize and conduct recreational programs for the following services: Comox Valley Recreation Complexes Service, the Comox Valley Track and Fields Service and the Comox Valley Exhibition Grounds Service. The commission may incur liabilities for the purpose of organizing and conducting recreation programs within the amounts included for such programs in the annual budgets of the CVRD.

Mandate: The Comox Valley Recreation Commission will undertake those powers within its authority and provide advice to the board on matters pertaining to the administration and operation of the Comox Valley Recreation Complexes Service, the Comox Valley Track and Fields Service and the Comox Valley Exhibition Grounds Service. The commission will provide advice and recommendations to the board where the commission cannot undertake the required actions, for example in adopting bylaws or entering contracts.

Membership: The Comox Valley Recreation Commission is comprised of:

- Director Arbour (Baynes Sound Denman/Hornby Islands Electoral Area A)
- Director Hamir (Lazo North Electoral Area B)
- Director Grieve (Puntledge Black Creek Electoral Area C)
- Director Cole-Hamilton (City of Courtenay)
- Director McCollum (City of Courtenay)
- Director Hillian (City of Courtenay)
- Director Morin (City of Courtenay)
- Director Grant (Town of Comox)
- Director Swift (Town of Comox)
- Director Ketler (Village of Cumberland)
- Sarah Jane Howe (School District 71)

Commission chair: The commission shall elect a chair and vice-chair from amongst its members at the first meeting of each year.

Resources: The CAO will determine and assign a staff member as an advisor to the commission. A recording secretary may also be appointed. The commission will also be accorded a budget to cover meeting expenses, meals/coffee, photocopying and other related activities.

Tenure: This commission is established by bylaw and as such will be deemed to be continuous. Membership will be subject to local government elections each four years or at the pleasure of council appointments.

Reporting: The Comox Valley Recreation Commission will provide its minutes to the Corporate Legislative Officer within 48 hours of any commission meeting. Where the board feels it is necessary, the commission may be asked to meet with the board and brief the board on an issue(s) within its purview. This invitation shall be extended to the chair of the commission as the representative of the commission.

Contact with the Media: Any contact with the media regarding issues related to the work of this commission shall be handled by the commission chair or shall be referred by the chair of the commission to the CVRD chair of the board. If the matter under questioning by the media deals with CVRD Board policy around issues related to the work of this commission, the matter shall be referred to the chair of the board. The Chief Administrative Officer, Deputy Chief Administrative Officer and General Manager of Corporate Services will provide assistance and / or guidance to the chair of the board and commission chair in responding to the media.